JavaScript Menu, DHTML Menu Powered By Milonic
ODS logo

Norman Robbins
TV Links


Although primarily known as an author, Norman had a substancial professional acting career. Much of this was in the theatre, but it also included a fair amount of TV work, including appearances in several memorable series over the years. These being mostly in the 1970's and 1980's, there is limited material about them on the web, and many of the sites I've located do not specifically mention him, but such links as I've been able to find are gathered together here. They are presented in no particular order.

Open all Hours

Norman appeared in the first episode, Soulmate wanted, of the fourth series which was first aired on 1st September 1985. Further information at British TV Comedy.

Last of the Summer Wine

Norman appeared in episode 11, A Quiet Drink, of season 2 which was first aired on 2nd April 1975.

Robin's Nest

Norman appeared in episode 9, The Seven Pound Fiddle, of season 2 which was first aired on 2nd March 1978.


Norman appeared in episode 33, The Peacemaker, of season 3 which was first aired on 27th April 1977. There are several sites devoted to the series. The most detailed would seem to be Andy Priestner's with an extensive episode guide. The others are at EpGuides and Clive Banks.

For The Love Of Ada

There were four series, a total of 27 episodes, transmitted in 1970 to 1971. Not a lot out there. I've found references at British TV Comedy and The British Sitcom Guide.

All Creatures Great And Small

There were seven series, a total of 90 episodes, transmitted in 1978 to 1980 and 1988 to 1990. Two major resources: British TV Comedy and EpGuides.

Get some in

This was written by John Esmonde and Bob Larbey. There were five series in all which were aired from 1975 to 1978. Further information at British TV Comedy.

Grange Hill

The first episode was aired back in 1978 and it's still running! There are many websites covering all aspects of this long running series, though most seem rooted in the present.


We are talking here of the first series (1964 to 1988) and not the new series. Further information at